2013


“When we think seriously about what it will cost others if we obey the call of Jesus, we tell God He doesn’t know what our obedience will mean. Keep to the point- He does know. Shut out every other thought and keep yourself before God in this one thing only- my utmost for His highest. I am determined to be absolutely and entirely for Him and Him alone.”

This excerpt was taken from the January 1 reading of My Utmost for His Highest by Oswald Chambers. What a way to begin a new year… As I read and pondered Chambers’ words, I realized something very grave about my current state. I am lacking in the area of obedience.

I have to admit that I have always prided myself in the fact that I am pretty much unmoved by the opinions of others. I could care less what most people think of me, my faith, my style and my moral standing. However, when viewing my life through the lens of obedience, my faithfulness is almost completely governed by those around me.

I am indeed telling God, “You don’t know what you’re asking of me”.

So. Here’s to 2013- a year full of steadfast obedience… even to the death.

“For I fully expect and hope that I will never be ashamed, but that I will continue to be bold for Christ, as I have been in the past. And I trust that my life will bring honor to Christ, whether I live or die. For to me, living means living for Christ, and dying is even better.” Phillipians 1:20-21

