disappointment

I have been disappointed lately. Disappointed in myself. Disappointed in others. Disappointed in life. Simply disappointed.

It’s almost as my plans in life have failed, which feels like me failing.

People around me have done things that should not translate as disappointment… yet they do. Why is my life so wrapped up in my surroundings?

When this overwhelming feeling of disappointment finally reached the “unbearable” level, I started to do some evaluation. (If Dad were around, he would have broken out a flow chart… I did think about it.)

It all comes down to this: My lack of security in the Lord leads to disappointment. That may seem simple, but I believe it is one of the most difficult concepts for us to grasp in our walk.

As a “20 something”, having stability in the Lord rather than my plans, the plans of others or outside circumstances is paramount. There are so many opportunities rushing in to steal our attention, so many people floating in and out of relationship and so many dreams flying by; unfinished. When God isn’t at the center of our heart and confidence, it is so easy to fall into a cycle of disappointment and develop a habit of striving to beat the opportunities. 

God doesn’t want us to strive. He has a plan and He knows the opportunities that will make us come alive.. We (I) don’t have to live in a cycle of disappointment anymore. He has given us the ability to live in peace; but only when we live within Him.

“While you are proclaiming peace with your lips, be careful to have it even more fully in your heart.” -Saint Francis of Assisi

